Ask HN: Do you respect DNT in your personal websites / web apps? How?

Yesterday, I have published some article (that is irrelevant to this discussion) up on my blog. In it, I’ve embedded a YouTube video. Now, it got me thinking. Even though I have configured my analytics service (Piwik) in such a way that it respects Do Not Track policy, embedding a YouTube video made me break my own, so far not heavily enforced, Do Not Track policy.

It got me thinking, and honestly, I have no clue how much time have I done it in the past by embedding third party content.

So, my question is: Do you respect DNT in your own personal blogs / websites / web app projects, and if so, how? Do you carefully inspect every source before embedding it, re-host everything and things like that, or are you using some sort of an automation tool that I am not familiar of that will force you to only embed content that respects DNT?

I should point out that I’m not aiming for a regular DNT is a good/bad idea discussion, but for the practical examples on how someone, as a website owner, could respect the DNT idea if he wants to.

Leave a Reply

