Ask HN: Freelancers, are you crazy dry these days? or is it just me?

In a nutshell, I’m wondering if the market has shifted in the past 10-15 months or so, and how we can measure it.

I get the sense that, socially, we’re not supposed to talk about these things. To acknowledge that I’ve had trouble finding work makes me seem weak or less valuable. To discuss money at all is a social taboo.

I don’t know about y’all, but for my part, I had absolutely no trouble finding work – usually without even really trying – from mid-2011 to mid-2016.

I have no doubt that I’m valuable in the right contexts, and that hasn’t changed in the timeframe I’m talking about.

Nor have the technologies on which I’m most of ten contracted to work (python, usually web stuff, usually django) lost enough market share to explain it.

My rate ($6k / week) is not, in my estimation, too high for the value I provide.

So my question: is anyone else having a similar experience? Is there a way that we can gauge changes in the market?

And then also: whether or not my experience is unique, what’s the best thing to do when you have long stretches without solid work? Learn a new skill?

I’ve been working a lot lately on Raspberry Pi, off-grid tech, power monitoring, etc. I live on a school bus (http://thisisthebus.com/) and I’ve developed a lot of interesting tech for that purpose. But then once you start to feel comfortable with new skills, how do you develop a new client base?

Leave a Reply

